Memories

Oh! I remember years ago

Of laughter and tears wrapped in a bow,

Of carefree ways and festive days

And treasured times caught in a vase

When children chased green dragonflies – and fireflies

Of summer days ‘neath blue skies

When autumn leaves marked fall sights

And Christmas morn brought dreamed delights.

They’re so much like a patchwork quilt,

A fieldstone wall the mason built.

Together gathered, one design,

Exclusive, and to call them mine.

Now days have taken on a sheen,

A golden haze – a soft patine.

I pray, as memories still grow,

My life will leave a sunset’s glow.

Robert D. Johnson

Ode to The Scarlet Thread by Francine Rivers ( but maybe more about that later)

(may put this in as my poem at my funeral)

About donnainthesouth

I'm a transplant, born up north but raised in the middle, now I'm down here where you don't see too many snowflakes; I'll probably post just about as often (here at least)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

