It Only Took a Year

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Community Service.”

At least it seems like it’s been that long because I believe it was around the time of the Spirit of America festival we have here every year on the 4th of July, or we did, except last year we almost didn’t, but then we did; anyway, there was talk of a bunch of photographs they wanted some help going through so I offered but never heard anything but then at almost the same time there was another photographic event as well in the other direction that they also put out a call for help on that I also volunteered for as well but also never heard anything; that is, until today, for when? tomorrow – nothing like a little notice, eh, people? but, thankfully, looks like may all work out

son has started back to college and has classes tomorrow – not that I couldn’t go off and leave a college age student here at home but it’s just different – anyway – let’s see daughter-in-law has started new babysitting job and tomorrow she’s staying at the kid’s house so she’ll be there for when the older ones get home from school, which doesn’t really matter anyway, since should only be for in the morning; son’s started his new job – salary this time – only thing if there’s a problem with hub getting his lapband tightened – again – tomorrow

but I’m looking forward to being a part of this “community service” tomorrow with the local historical society sorting through, from what I understand, should be a “boatload” of old photographs – by community event – for the upcoming new “community event” – an old-fashioned community fair – not a carnival – that’s held every fall – which I thought they were trying to have these ready for last year, but….I’d like it somewhat to the new “maker’s fairs” that are becoming popular now, since they have made goods booths there, not really sure how they’re distinguishing between the two, since they had their first “maker’s fair” yesterday and I saw much the same type thing as at the community fair, which I didn’t really expect, so maybe they don’t really have them separated in their own minds themselves; anyway looking forward to tomorrow

I actually learned about this from a fellow blogging 101 mate – didn’t find this one on my own in the prompts but in that regard she talked about online volunteering and mentioned transcribing in particular, which I’ve actually done as well for our state archives and actually probably should get back into it but was transcribing Civil War letters – at least in that sense but somehow with all the hoopla over the new/old Harper Lee just had mixed feelings about it all – probably doesn’t help that I’m that somewhat mixed up – am I a Yankee? – transplant down here

About donnainthesouth

I'm a transplant, born up north but raised in the middle, now I'm down here where you don't see too many snowflakes; I'll probably post just about as often (here at least)
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

