Leaving a Legacy

which is maybe why I started or maybe not, since Jackie Kennedy said she didn’t journal because she wanted to live life, not document it, maybe originally just a place for my own thoughts, but thought I’d try to start branching out, so even though been “journaling” for a long time, maybe just starting to try “blogging” as in specifically trying to write to be read, so ordinarily would have done something different but the timing has happened as it has, so I’m just going to go with the flow –

couple weeks ago was outside when heard the ambulance come to my neighbors, learning they took him away – but some neighbor I’ve been, when haven’t even been to seem him, knowing he was in bad health, even after learning that his wife, who’d been taking care of him being somewhat younger than him, unexpectedly passed away – so actually wasn’t even sure he was even still there – like that’s an excuse – but found out he had been with the help of a housekeeper, so kept in touch while he was in the hospital, learned he’d been discharged back home and also found out he has had a daughter who’s lived local, so stopped by meeting her but she was busy taking care of business and said he wasn’t able to have company, so did the standard let her know who I was, where we lived, and if we could be of any help…you know the stuff – then didn’t want to impose so let it ride with the idea I’d give it a week, then got tied up helping a friend – another story, another post? – only to learn tonight that he passed away on Thursday – so feeling pretty bummed right now, so…

About donnainthesouth

I'm a transplant, born up north but raised in the middle, now I'm down here where you don't see too many snowflakes; I'll probably post just about as often (here at least)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Leaving a Legacy

  1. Tessa says:

    So sorry Donna. Rough when things happen like that. You did try.

    • I know and I am so glad I did; matter of fact I need to go back to the obit site and leave a message – they wanted you to share a memory, though, and I’m trying to remember; he loved old vintage cars and I’m thinking we got to take a ride in one of them once but then I’m thinking that may have been somebody else; hub and I were just talking about it the other day so was going to ask him but didn’t get it done before he went to bed but just his interest in them is what I mainly remember about them; I just always wanted him to show his to me that were in his shops but never did, only, as I recall, when I got to see him out in one of them but still that’s what I remember, think I probably need to go do that, since it’s already been since Thursday

      • Tessa says:

        Sounds like something you need to do. I just had to do an obit message on an old neighbor.

      • oh wow; did you just find out about him, too?

      • Tessa says:

        I belong to a facebook group of my old town and it was mentioned in there so I felt it important to leave a message.

      • I’m on one of those as well; matter of fact, thanks, because that’s how I found out they put my mom’s cousin in the nursing home that her son works at – the worst one in town and seems a shame because the way I understood he doesn’t hardly have anything to do with her; at least that’s what she used to say, how I found out was her daughter-in-law, that she sure never had anything good to say anything about; again, way I understood she never got to see her grandchild(?) – think they’re the only ones that even have any at all – and the only way it even came up then was her talking about cleaning out her house since they’d done that with her; what she always said – she and mom were so close, hate that so bad as well – just wish I could get the trunk they got together – that would be a story and post – when/how mom crushed her heel and had to be in a boot – getting it

      • Tessa says:

        Yes those groups are good for finding out info from where you used to live or live now for that matter.

      • how’d you find out about the blogging class?

      • Tessa says:

        I get updates from WordPress and daily writing prompts as well. So they sent them out and joined up. Doing my other blog this time.

      • so how do you do that? I never have

      • Tessa says:

        Somehow I subscribed. I don’t remember it was years ago with my first blog.

  2. got the obit message done; think may try to see if I can do something little more physical as well, if can find out how

Leave a Reply

