Hemingway’s Legacy – or would it be Twain’s?

after not having heard of Hemingway – to speak of anyway – for years, after starting a Great Books book club, going to, that is, not actually starting it – beginning with Melville, not sure if before or after finding an old Smithsonian with an article about him – did you know he died a poor lowly obscure government clerk – Moby Dick didn’t become famous for years after he died? – anyway next selection was Huck Finn by Twain, which Hemingway said was the first quintessential American novel, so easy segue to him for the upcoming, but honestly, I tried, but guess should have known what I was talking about before saying The Snows of Kilimanjaro I’d like to read – thought, assumed – and yes, I know what they say about it – expected it would be about an expedition up the mountain – and, yes, boy was I wrong – just so glad I was able to listen to it rather than read so I could be doing something else as well – I’m sorry, I’ve just never been able to get into him – he was just always so depressing to me, except, to somewhat go along with the fact of the books been working on getting reprinted about couple young men – did find out about his Nick Adams stories that somebody’s beaten me to having already compiled them into a book and having found some of them online to read, am intrigued with the idea of ordering it and just telling the book club people, sorry, I did read the cover story of that compilation of short stories but after that one, just couldn’t handle even thinking about reading any more of those, so at least this is his writing as well; hope that’s good enough – and now in his words as well – well, paraphrased, since I’m not going back and editing it – as in, if I had more time, maybe this wouldn’t be as wordy and long – so unlike his writing, because, in spite of that quote, my understanding is, thought not sure could prove it to me by that one story I listened to..

his work is supposedly quite sparse, so maybe he did spend a lot of time editing his stuff – probably a good thing, although I thought I’d been given to understand he actually didn’t, that he actually wrote that way, but who knows? think he did quite a bit of writing on writing, maybe like Stephen King’s book – maybe need to check that out at least but as for me,

good night now

About donnainthesouth

I'm a transplant, born up north but raised in the middle, now I'm down here where you don't see too many snowflakes; I'll probably post just about as often (here at least)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

