Hanging out with the kids

only guess they’re not really kids, anymore – they’re all growing up but makes me feel even better; you have to be allowed to hang out with them then – not sure why they hang out at my house – not sure if they’re not allowed to at the others but they sure seem to make a big deal out of being allowed in invade my kitchen and cook – they wanted to make breakfast – French toast – rollups, it turned out – for one of them’s 17th birthday – I’m glad to have them but maybe – oh, little things, like burning the butter – to me, they’re so funny – granted, I realize they haven’t done it quite enough to know my stove – or is just so simple and mundane is why they don’t know how to operate it – anyway, they had son turn the burner on, which is all he did, which leaves it on high, which, at that point, all you have to do is turn the know to turn it down, so he never thought about them not doing it, but no….smoked up the whole house – so, yea, maybe I can see….should I have run to the fire station and gotten one of their smoke ejector fans – oh, well, made it through that, got it turned down, got the butter melted, got the French toast made, then son….

decided to cook the bacon and then he didn’t do much better, sure smoked the house up, the pan – the girl said the bacon was like cracklins, which led to a discussion of whether that was the same as pork skin, rind – or is it chittlins – can you tell now why it’s snowFlakes in the South, ya’ll? especially since one of the big articles in the just past edition of the semi-weekly paper – oh, yea, we still have them – was on – what? – all the eatins out of a pig – and no, I didn’t put it in there, it just happened that way – and, yes, they are, btw –

anyway, quite a day – enjoyed having breakfast with the gang – being invited to

About donnainthesouth

I'm a transplant, born up north but raised in the middle, now I'm down here where you don't see too many snowflakes; I'll probably post just about as often (here at least)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

