It’s Funny What You Remember

I’ve heard mom talk about the layoffs they’d have at the car plant when things would get tight and she’d talk about having nothing but thickened gravy and biscuits to eat. My dad would talk about my granma playing guitar; I wonder what happened to it; found it so interesting that I only know of one person in my family who plays, my dad’s oldest sister’s youngest son, who, for whatever reason, doesn’t even remember our granma playing, though I don’t either, but then I’m 20 yrs. younger than him, so had she already quit by they time he came along or was old enough to know her; know he mostly remembers her living in town after they’d sold their farm during the war she had all her boys in; could that have something to do with it? and Vernor’s Ginger Ale, bottled up there but apparently at some point was sold in the next town down home because I can remember going with my other grandmother to the grocery and getting it, where they kept it stocked; because of me? or is that where I actually learned to love it and why, not from up there, or is that where she, on her trips up there, but by the time I was expecting my son they must have quit because that was my main craving – and you know, a pregnant woman must not be denied her craving – and she couldn’t get me any but dad’s same baby sister was going up there and she paid her to get me some to send – or did she bring; she did come down – to me. And remember the cookie jar funds where our grandparents and parents kept their mad – or rather, emergency, money. And where even a penny saved is a penny earned. And something to tide you over, hold you, yes, so you don’t get too hungry. There’s more to life; this isn’t ‘it’; what took my daddy home. And fried chicken bones getting stuck in your throat – to be gotten out by the, somehow, big hands of the doc; so glad he made it, though I wonder how.

About donnainthesouth

I'm a transplant, born up north but raised in the middle, now I'm down here where you don't see too many snowflakes; I'll probably post just about as often (here at least)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

