The Ghosts of Thanksgivings Past

Dil’s family would have the big get-together for Thanksgiving so she feels that’s the way you’re supposed to do it as well while we’ve actually had issues with our family getting together anymore after dh’s father passed away and then his mother remarried; we just for the first time got everybody together this year for the 4th of July at their house; have had some earlier at restaurants but nothing with everybody at the house since so first couple of years we went to my parents, taking them the first time – well, according to younger son, which reminds me of me remembering things that my parents have no idea what I’m talking about because that’s the way dh and I feel about this; we have no recollection of this at all but since I know from experience that sometimes things stick with the kids more than they do you I’m willing to concede this, maybe I took them but they brought them back while I believe I must have stayed to take my mom to the doctor (which is probably somewhere in here) anyway,  which put them close to her family as well, but even at my parents it’s still just us and them, so still not big extended family so they would get together with her family first but  – like you talking about – no real feeling of Thanksgiving but then never was with dh’s family either before; think may be different with new hub –  but even beyond that there’s drama with somebody getting into it; yes, even physically so that by the time they’d get to our place she wouldn’t even feel like being with us although she’s since told us she just felt uncomfortable – maybe because we don’t have all the drama? – since she didn’t really know us that well – they were married before we had that first Thanksgiving – then the next one were other issues by then and by the next one mom was gone as well so that put a whole other twist on things since we were trying to keep dad from being by himself and thought they were going to be with dh’s family until we were on our way to dad’s and got a phone call nixing everything so it ended up being just them by themselves that year with a new baby besides so the next year is when we  tried the restaurant thing, which I didn’t really mind but didn’t really feel like enough for her, so much so they didn’t even show up, so learned from that she does really want it to be at somebody’s house; to her that’s what Thanksgiving’s about, so much so that last year (long story) when I wasn’t even able to be here she came and fixed for the rest; that turned out pretty nice. So really in spite of what I started off to say, not sure we’ve really had Thanksgiving with them yet.

About donnainthesouth

I'm a transplant, born up north but raised in the middle, now I'm down here where you don't see too many snowflakes; I'll probably post just about as often (here at least)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

