Internet but no Phone

We don’t have true DSL (at least as I understand it); it still runs through our phone line. Our power went off in the night last night (not that I knew anything about it, sound sleeper that I am) but dh had a hard time of it what with his CPAP not working (why don’t those things have battery back-up anyway? all kinds of other things less life-threatening do, wouldn’t you think something that supposedly important would?) so he well knew. So anyway like so many others all our phones are cordless so of course they’re dependent on the power (not that that was a problem in the middle of the night, not for us anyway) but when we tried to make a call this afternoon we couldn’t even though all the phones show full charge, so we at first thought it was in the line until we realized we STILL HAVE INTERNET; we normally would check it out with our emergency corded phone that we keep for just such situations (yes, we do)-EXCEPT-we forgot we loaned (?) it out to the young couple we’ve bee! n helping when they got phone service but had no phone (or money to buy one and yes, I know they’re cheap – cheap enough we should have just gotten them one – or at least have replaced ours then – I know, I know) – shades of virgins with no oil – I thought I knew that lesson, anyway dh has now gone to get one, hopefully the door won’t be shut – either there or with what we were making the call about. We’ll see!

About donnainthesouth

I'm a transplant, born up north but raised in the middle, now I'm down here where you don't see too many snowflakes; I'll probably post just about as often (here at least)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

